Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
WSCA Awards


Aubrey Fisher Outstanding

Journal Article Award

Fisher Award Committee Chair: Robin Rowland

Presented each year for the best article(s) appearing in the Western Journal

of Communication. Criteria are:

  1. Significance of the article's contribution to the literature of the discipline.
  2. Level of response the article has elicited from other scholars and teachers.
  3. Substantive importance and methodological rigor—significance of the topic and elegance and thoroughness of the study's method.
  4. Substantive and/or methodological innovativeness—the degree to which the article breaks new ground.
  5. Style-clarity, grace, parsimony, evocativeness of expression.

Previous recipients

The Milton Dickens Award for Exemplary Empirical Research

  Dickens Award Committee Chair: Jennifer Bevan

  This award recognizes an outstanding article in Communication Reports. The 

   award is given at the end of each editorial term (i.e., once every three years).

   Previous recipients






Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award Committee Chair: Derek Buescher

Honors persons who have made considerable and long-standing contributions both to WSCA and to the field of communication. Recipients are honored at the annual convention luncheon.

Previous recipients


Distinguished Scholar Award

Distinguished Scholar Award Committee Chair: TBD

The award recognizes sustained contribution to the study of human communication from a member of WSCA who has made a difference in the way scholars and students think about the nature, function, and scope of communication. Criteria for selection includes: 1) a sustained research program, 2) research that is theoretically grounded, 3) analytically sound, 4) advances the discipline (as indicated by citations and other evidence), and 5) includes work that has been featured in WSCA journals as well as other outlets. 

Previous recipients


Model Communication Program Award*

Model Communication Program Award Committee Chair: TDB

The criteria for the Award are as follows:

  1. Model in Teaching: Course offerings, reaching innovations, certificates, degrees, curricular design and innovation. How does the program integrate current and/or best practices for teaching communication in their curriculum? 
  2. Model in Service: To students, the program, the institution, and/or the community. This category includes forensic teams, service learning, internships, committee memberships, etc.
  3. Model in Research and/or Creative Works: Internal/external grants, articles, reviews, training programs and/or other methods of creating or using current research from the field of Communication Studies.
  4. Effective Use of Resources: Administrative support, integrating broader curricular and co-curricular activities, and encouraging development of specialized areas to reflect the breadth and depth of the field.

*Modified February 2009, Formerly the Model Teaching Program Award.

Previous recipients


Distinguished Teaching Award

Distinguished Teaching Award Committee Chair: Audrey Deterding

The Distinguished Teaching Award may be given each year to deserving faculty members who have made a significant contribution to the quality of teaching in WSCA and the communication field in institutions in the Western region. The award is open to a wide range of faculty, including adjunct, contingent, temporary, and tenure/tenure-track instructors, regardless of whether they are full or part-time instructors. Award recipients may be from community colleges, 4-year colleges/universities, or institutions granting graduate degrees. Recipients must demonstrate teaching that rises above and beyond the craft of teaching to a sustained performance of excellence in pedagogy. This kind of teaching incites intellectual curiosity in students, can inspire departmental colleagues, and makes students aware of significant relationships between the academy and the world at large.

Previous recipients

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal