Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: Officers and Committees

Election Results

Thursday, January 14, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Christina Yoshimura
Share |

By Paul Mongeau, President 

Results from the WSCA election are in! No hanging chads or recounts. The new slate of leaders will guide WSCA beginning at the close of the San Diego convention.

 Dr. Brian L. Heisterkamp (California State University, San Bernardino) was elected as First Vice-President. In that capacity, he will plan the annual WSCA membership drive. At the end of the 2017 WSCA convention, Brian will succeed to the position of President-Elect and plan the 2018 convention in Santa Clara. He will become President at the end of that convention and will preside over the 2019 WSCA convention in Seattle. A Life Member of WSCA, Brian served as WSCA Second Vice President in 2014-2015. In this capacity, he planned the Undergraduate Scholars Research Conference and the Graduate Student Open House at the Spokane convention in addition to serving on the Executive Council. In addition, he has served on the Legislative Assembly and as the Legislative Assembly’s representative on the Executive Council. In doing so, he also chaired the Distinguished Service Award Committee and served on the Nominating Committee. He has also served as chair/program planner, paper reviewer, chair, and panel participant for the Language and Social Interaction Interest Group.


Dr. Marnel Niles Goins (California State University, Fresno) was elected Second Vice President. Her major responsibilities will include running the Undergraduate Scholars Research Conference, preparing the Graduate Students Workshop, and hosting the Graduate Programs Open House at the 2017 Salt Lake City Convention. A WSCA member since 2007, Marnel served as the Local Host for the 2011 WSCA convention in Monterey. She is currently Vice President of the Organization for Research on Women and Communication (ORWAC) and, at NCA, served as President of Black Caucus and Secretary of the Small Group Division.


Elected delegates to Legislative Assembly, serving two-year terms beginning with the upcoming San Diego convention, are Jennifer Asenas (California State University, Long Beach), Aaron Hess (Arizona State University), Brandi Lawless (University of San Francisco), Matthew Petrunia (Fashion Institute of Technology, SUNY in New York, NY), and Nina Reich (Loyola Marymount University).

The Leadership Team (those in the presidential queue along with members of the Executive Committee and Legislative Assembly) welcome these individuals who will help guide WSCA in the coming years. Special thanks also go to all those willing to run, but not elected. We sincerely appreciate these individuals’ past service to WSCA and hope they remain involved in the organization's future.


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal