Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: Awards

2020 Forensics Tournament

Tuesday, April 21, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Maria Blevins
Share |

By Carlos Tarin

The Western States Communication Association tournament was held February 21-23, 2020 at Metropolitan State University of Denver. The tournament was one of the largest on record with 15 schools representing nine states in attendance. The tournament winners are listed below. 

Sweepstakes Awards

Four-Year School Sweepstakes: The University of Utah

Two-Year School Sweepstakes: Northwest College

Best in the West Travelling Trophy Winner: Northwest College


Debate Awards

NPDA Debate – Raine McDonagh & Mary Talamantez (Lewis & Clark College)

IPDA Debate – Kaitlyn Workman & Tiffany Chan (Co-Champions – University of Utah)

NFA-LD – Thane Zeeh (University of Utah)


Speech Awards

After Dinner Speaking – Benjamin Jensen (University of Utah)

Communication Analysis – Grace Osusky (University of Utah)

Dramatic Interpretation – Ian Morton (San Diego State University)

Duo Interpretation – Hailea Stone & Ian Morton (San Diego State University)

Impromptu Speaking – Nathan Dowell (Kansas State University)

Impromptu Speaking (Junior) – Renee Owens (San Diego State University)

Informative Speaking – Alexis Vega (The University of Texas at El Paso)

Extemporaneous Speaking – Alexis Vega (The University of Texas at El Paso)

Persuasive Speaking – Carla Rodriguez (The University of Texas at El Paso)

Poetry Interpretation – Vivian Lee (University of Utah)

Poetry Interpretation (Junior) – Brendan Kachnowski (Northwest College)

Program Oral Interpretation – Hailea Stone (San Diego State University)

Program Oral Interpretation (Junior) – Brendan Kachnowski (Northwest College)

Prose Interpretation – Zac Ray (University of Utah)

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal