Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: Officers and Committees

2017 Election Results

Monday, December 11, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Christina Yoshimura
Share |

By Michelle A. Holling, WSCA President


I appreciate the time and effort put forth by members of the Nominating Committee, who produced a stellar set of candidates for the election slate. With the elections completed and votes confirmed (sans Russian interference or recounts and run-off’s), I am honored to present the results of elected officers and delegates of WSCA.


First Vice-President Marnel Niles-Goins. Dr. Niles-Goins is a Professor in the Department of Communication at California State University, Fresno. She concurrently serves as Graduate Coordinator at CSUF and President of the Organization for Research on Women and Communication.  Her commitment to WSCA is evidenced in her service as Second Vice-President, Delegate at Large on Legislative Assembly, chair of Time and Place Committee, and local host for the 2011 WSCA Convention as well as her editorial board experience for Western Journal of Communication. Her disciplinary knowledge and experience continues into NCA in which her service on its Executive Council and Finance Board will most likely be of assistance as she advances through officer roles.


She will succeed to President-Elect in 2019 with responsibility for planning the 2020 conference after which become President in 2021 and Immediate Past President in 2022. On behalf of the Association, I welcome her as one of the incoming officers of WSCA. I am sure she will manifest her stated goals of increasing diversity in membership and interest groups along with modernizing some of the Association’s practices.


Second Vice-President Justin P. Boren. Dr. Boren is an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication at Santa Clara University. His commitment to advancing undergraduate scholarship anchors in his teaching experience and working in an undergraduate-only department as well as his publication and conference papers co-authored with students. Moreover, he brings vast service experience including reviewer for the Interpersonal Communication interest group of WSCA and for the LGBTQ caucus and division of the NCA, current membership on the Western Journal of Communication editorial board, membership on the Affirmative Action and Intercaucus Council of the National Communication Association, to name a few.


He will serve as Second Vice-President for 2018-2019. On behalf of the Association, I look forward to seeing how he will promote and advance undergraduate and graduate scholarship as he plans the 2019 undergraduate and graduate programming for the Seattle convention.


Delegates At-Large of the Legislative Assembly play important roles in contributing to the governance of the Association. Congratulations to the following:


Maria Blevins of Utah Valley University

 Santhosh Chandrashekar of University of Denver

Benny LeMaster of California State University Long Beach

Kathleen McConnell of San Jose State University

 Pavithra Prasad of California State University Northridge


The list of elected delegates begin a two-year term commencing with the Legislative Assembly meeting on February 18, 2018. I look forward to working with them on Association business at the upcoming meeting.


Finally, as President, and on behalf of the Executive Council, I extend personal thanks to all candidates who ran for office. Their willingness to serve the WSCA is to the betterment of the Association and its members. My hope is that those not elected as well as those who have not previously contemplated running for a position will do so in the future. Cheers to everyone!

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal